One Act Play advances to UIL Regional Competition

v  By Evia Zack

   Leander’s Theatre Department is dominating the UIL One Act Play Competition with their play, Armitage. Armitage is the story of a disturbed family with lots of secrets, told from the diary of a demented girl, Margaret, played by Lora Blackwell. She recounts her history with her depressed and desperate mother Eva, played by Danielle Farley, and her apparently evil stepfather Zachary Pendragon, played by Evan Nasky. Her sister, Elaine, played by Hailey Suggs, her brother Johnny, played by Josean Rodriguez, and a poor ragged girl Fay Morgan, played by Kat Schober create another layer of deception and forbidden love to the story. The more minor characters, played by Caitlyn Guerra, Safaa Hansen, Ben Sands, Anthony Schoggins, Halyn Erickson, and Justin Cagle, silently move about the stage, observing the main story and adding depth and interest with stories of their own.

   They competed at Zone on Tuesday, March 31st. Of the four plays competing, Leander and Vista Ridge advanced. Danielle Farley and Josean Rodriguez won Honorable Mention, Lora Blackwell and Hailey Suggs won All Star Cast, Ryan Hall won Honor Crew and Evan Nasky won Best Actor.

   The next competition, District, was on Friday, April 3rd. Once again, they advanced along with Vista Ridge. Honor Crew went to Evia Zack, Honorable Mention went to Safaa Hansen and Hailey Suggs, and All Star Cast went to Danielle Farley and Josean Rodriguez. Lora Blackwell won Best Actress, and once again, Evan Nasky won Best Actor.

   Area was on Thursday, April 9th, and for the first time in three years, Leander advanced to Region, along with Temple High School. Honor Crew was awarded to Travis Lanham, and Honorable Mention went to Safaa Hansen, Danielle Farley, and Kat Schober. All Star Cast was awarded to Hailey Suggs, Josean Rodriguez, and Lora Blackwell. For the third time in a row, Evan Nasky was awarded Best Actor.

   The next competition, Region, is on Friday, April 24th at Baylor University. The shows start at 1:00 pm, with Temple High School performing first, then Creekview, Woodlands, and South Garland. Leander performs fifth, at approximately 4:20 pm, and the last show is by Cypress Falls. The admission is eight dollars and includes all six shows. Come and support your Theatre Program as the conquer the competition once more.