JV teams represent cross country at Cedar Park

Cross country teams place in invitationals.


Megan Marshall

Senior Zachary Kirkland running at the Cedar Park Invitationals. The JV boys placed 15th in the meet.

The JV boys and girls team were invited to race at the Cedar Park Invitationals and placed in certain categories. The runner with the fastest time for the JV girls two mile team was sophomore Katherine Pizer. She ran with a time of 17:12. Sophomore Josiah Sparks ran the fastest time at 14:26 for the JV boys two mile team.

“The race was hard,” Pizer said. “In the end though, when you look at what you’ve accomplished, the pain was worth the medal.”

The JV girls 5K team placed fifth overall and the JV boys placed 15th out of 38 teams . The runners with the fastest times were sophomore Nichole Schwalbach with a time of 23:31, placing 13th, and sophomore Michael Coe with 19:55, placing 27th. 

“It always feels good to win,” Coe said. “Inside though, it makes me look up to my brother [Rob Coe] even more. He is in Varsity and that pushes me to do the best that I can do.”

Coe also plays JV football and balances the two sports. He said that he was hoping to be like his brother and run for varsity but the practice times conflict. 

It always feels good to win.

— Michael Coe

“That morning I had woken up with a pain in my chest,” Coe said. “I don’t get to run often because of conflicts with football. I love running and always trying to do my best. I would be in varsity but because of football I can’t.”

The varsity cross country team also went to the Islander Splash Invitationals at Corpus Christi on the Spetember 26th. The 5/6A division girl team runners that were selected were senior Claire Crone, senior Funmi Orekoya, junior Kami Taylor, junior Caroline Crone, junior Kimberly Parada, senior Sydney Brinkman, and junior Richelle Vossler. The 5/6A boys team runners selected were senior Rob Coe, senior Justin Campbell, freshman Eralp Orkun, junior Victor Carillo, senior Jaried Jawed, junior Sean Malone and senior Nick Ford.