Debate Starts Off The New School Year

by Caroline Cravens, Staff Writer

The LHS debate team is currently taking new members from all grade levels!  The team has tons of fun, but the club does require some outside research.  So if you’re interested in debate, talk to Mrs. Moneyhun in room 327.

Debate team meets before and after school on Wednesdays from 4-5.  There is a class period for debate that Mrs. Moneyhun recommends taking, but the class is not required to be in debate.

On October 20th, debate is having an angle competition.  In an angle competition, the varsity team judges how well the rookies debate with other schools.  The competition will be held here at Leander High School.

There are two different types of debate: Lincoln Douglas, and Policy.  In Lincoln Douglas debates, students debate solo; this year’s topic is “The Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission, 558 U.S. 50 (2010) ruling undermines democracy in the United States”.  In Policy debates, students debate with a team; this year’s topic is “The United States federal government should substantially increase its transportation infrastructure investment in the United States”.

Even though debate club has two different teams, the leaders are similar for both teams: the Secretary is Erin Laughlin, the Hospitality chair is Veronica Jones, and the Historian is Terry Ballard.  The debate team has two different captains: Cody Holloway is the policy debate president and Lauren Noriega is the Lincoln Douglas president.